UN: Decolonization 2010

World Decolonization

 The United Nations and Decolonization - Source:

Non-Self-Governing Territories
Administration Area ( Population 1
Western Sahara 2 266,000 3
Anguilla United Kingdom 96 14,766
Bermuda United Kingdom 53 68,265
British Virgin Islands United Kingdom 153 24,939
Cayman Islands United Kingdom 260 50,209
Falkland Islands (Malvinas)4 United Kingdom 11,961 3,140
Montserrat United Kingdom 98 5,118
St. Helena United Kingdom 122 7,670
Turks and Caicos Islands United Kingdom 430 23,528
United States Virgin Islands United States 340 109,750
Gibraltar United Kingdom 6 28,877
American Samoa United States 197 66,432
Guam United States 549 180,865
New Caledonia5 France 35,853 252,352
Pitcairn United Kingdom 5 48
Tokelau New Zealand 10 1,400

1. From estimates or censuses cited in United Nations documents issued in 2010.

2. On 26 February 1976, Spain informed the Secretary-General that as of that date it had terminated its presence in the Territory of the Sahara and deemed it necessary to place on record that Spain considered itself thenceforth exempt from any responsibility of any international nature in connection with the administration of the Territory, in view of the cessation of its participation in the temporary administration established for the Territory. In 1990, the General Assembly reaffirmed that the question of Western Sahara was a question of decolonization which remained to be completed by the people of Western Sahara.

3. Not available.

4. A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas). (see ST/CS/SER.A/42)

5. On 2 December 1986, the General Assembly determined that New Caledonia was a Non-Self-Governing Territory.